Welcome to Beyond Windows 9 - Portal to the Future
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Photo

Cause: Help me brighten my town's media blackout

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

HellBlaze

HellBlaze

Tech Admin

• Administrators
  • 559 posts
Hello fellow w7v users!

As some of you may or may not know, I am a journalist. I graduated Bachelor with honors of Journalism and I am just one exam short of my Masters degree in Communicology studies. My hometown (population 40000) is in dire need of professional media portal that will cover local stories and general people problems.

Right now, there is virtually no unbiased and professional media portals/newspapers/radio stations in town. Our radio stations play MTV hits 24/7 and no news can be heard. I am one of 4 journalist in town with a degree and I can't get a job at the only newspaper here because I am not willing to put 50 hrs per week pro bono to get "educated", as they say.

I am also not willing to work as a manual laborer, growing corn and wheat after 5 years of college. Yes, that was an actual proposition from editor in chief of a local newspaper here.

Also, I do not wish to become politically active and join some party as I do not wish to lose my integrity. I believe (and I was taught, for that matter) journalists should be independent and not engage in political activities.